The Rosary teams

equipe-rosaireThe Rosary Teams are part of the Church, praying in the name of Mary, and missionary, were founded in 1955 by Father Joseph Eyquem, a Dominican, who was charged by the Master of the Dominicans to foster the spread of the Rosary prayer. Father Eyquem’s wish was “to help people to live as Christians”.

In collaboration with Madame Colette Couvreur, he defined the organisation of the teams in 1965, according to a model which is still in use in France and throughout the world, with the following rhythm.

The monthly meeting

Meetings take place in the homes of team members, where neighbours, friends, and local acquaintances are also to be invited. “Welcome to this home in the name of Mary” are the words pronounced by the host at the opening of the monthly meetings.

This prayer is followed by the celebration of God’s word, taken from a leaflet “The Rosary Team Prayers” which is issued nationally each month. The words are shared, and thoughts for our daily lives are discussed.

The Pope’s Intentions and those of the team members are then the subjects of another prayer to Mary. Each month, the meetings and the sharing encourage the development of faith and friendship.

Families also use this monthly time of prayer to introduce their children to the Rosary prayer, using the children’s page of the leaflet: parents and children pray together.

The individual daily prayer

Pauline’s “brief” recital of one rosary decade is linked with the meditation on one mystery of the Rosary. A ‘Team Calendar’ shares the mysteries between members of the team each day. This ‘chain of prayer’ creates spiritual union between team members which, combined, becomes the complete Rosary.

During a symposium at the 1989 National Meeting, Father Eyquem acknowledged himself to be Pauline Marie Jaricot’s successor for the creation and organisation of the teams.

“To my surprise, I realised that my goals were also hers, that the organisation I was proposing was in accord with Pauline Marie Jaricot’s own wishes. And when I recognised her contradictions, her sufferings, her tears and her position as victim, I understood that, having received the ‘revelation’ of the Living Rosary and ‘the mission to spread it throughout the world’ I owed it without any doubt to this woman.” (Father Eyquem).

By offering welcome, closeness, home comfort, the presence of the Word and spiritual communion in the meditation of Jesus’ life mysteries, the Rosary teams respond to the hopes of today’s believers.

To know more, visit www.rosaire.org

To contact the Rosary Teams

National Secretary

222 Rue du Faubourg Saint Honore – 75008 PARIS

Phone: +33 (0) 1 56 69 28 10 – email: national.Equipes@rosaire.org

International Coordination:

Mme Therese Turlan-Delannoy, contact via National Secretariat, as above.

Les équipes du Rosaire

equipe-rosaire

Les Équipes du Rosaire, Mouvement d’Église, marial et missionnaire ont été fondées en 1955 par le Père Joseph Eyquem, dominicain chargé par le Maître de l’Ordre de développer l’apostolat de la prière du Rosaire. Le désir du Père Eyquem était « d’aider les hommes à vivre en chrétiens ».

En collaboration avec Madame Colette Couvreur, il fixe l’organisation des Équipes en 1965 selon le modèle qui se vit aujourd’hui en France et dans le monde avec le rythme suivant.

Le temps de la réunion mensuelle

Elle a lieu dans « les maisons » des membres des Équipes où l’on est appelé à inviter voisins, amis ou personnes du quartier. « Sois Celle qui chez moi reçoit », l’invocation à Marie que prononcent les hôtes au début de la réunion mensuelle.

Cette prière est suivie d’une célébration de la Parole de Dieu, à l’aide d’un feuillet de petit format « le Rosaire en Équipe », préparé chaque mois au niveau national. Un partage de la Parole et une réflexion pour notre vie sont proposés.

Puis, les intentions du Pape et de chacun des membres de l’Équipe font l’objet d’une demande d’intercession à Marie. Mois après mois, ces rencontres et partages permettent le développement d’un chemin de foi et d’une vie fraternelle.

Des familles profitent de ce temps de prière mensuel pour initier leurs enfants à la prière du Rosaire en utilisant la page « Kids » du feuillet qui leur est dédiée. Parents et enfants prient ensemble.

Le temps de la prière quotidienne individuelle

Une seule dizaine de chapelet, –« le peu » de Pauline– associée à la méditation d’un mystère du Rosaire. Un « calendrier d’équipe » répartit, chaque jour, les mystères entre les membres d’une Équipe. Cette « chaîne de prière » crée une communion spirituelle entre les membres de l’Équipe et concourt à la prière du Rosaire entier.

Lors d’une conférence au Conseil National en 1989, le Père Eyquem se reconnut pleinement héritier de Pauline Marie Jaricot pour la fondation et l’organisation des Équipes :

« Je m’aperçus avec étonnement que mes desseins étaient les siens, que l’organisation que je projetais, « rejoignait » la sienne (Celle de Pauline Jaricot). Et quand je connus ses contradictions, ses souffrances, ses larmes et sa vocation de victime, je compris que si j’avais reçu « l’intelligence » du Rosaire Vivant et comme « la mission de le propager dans l’univers entier » je le devais sans aucun doute à cette femme. » (Père Eyquem)

Parce qu’on y trouve invitation, proximité, douceur d’une maison, présence de la Parole, et communion spirituelle dans la méditation des mystères de la Vie de Jésus, les Équipes du Rosaire répondent aux aspirations des croyants aujourd’hui.

Pour en savoir plus, le site www.rosaire.org,
Pour contacter les Équipes du Rosaire

Secrétariat national
222 Rue du Faubourg Saint Honoré – 75008 Paris
Tél : 01 56 69 28 10 – Email : national.Equipes@rosaire.org

Coordination internationale
Mme Thérèse Turlan-Delannoy, contact secrétariat national.