The Living Rosary

b

Rosary history

Rosary is a universal prayer, recited in almost every language and every country. It has a Biblical and universal spiritual meaning. It is, besides, a very old prayer.

During the first centuries, Christian people has been reciting the 150 biblical psalms. These psalms have been replaced by 150 « Je vous salue, Marie » or « Ave Maria ». For the Christians, it is very important to address Mary. The words are Angel Gabriel ‘s  greetings words  to Mary  and  the very words of  Elisabeth, which Mary visited very soon  after the angel’s announcement 

« Hail, Mary, full of grace, our Lord is with thee » Luke, 1, 28 « Blessed are thou among women and blessed is the fruit of thy womb » Luke, 1, 42.

All along the centuries, the 150 « Ave » have been divided into three groups of 50. Each group has been called a «chapelet » with 5 dozens of « Ave Maria ».

Reciting the Rosary

Rosary consists in meditating Gospel and  mysteries of Our Lord ‘s life with Mary ‘s intercession.

    • Happy Mysteries: Annunciation, Visitation, Nativity, Presentation in the Temple, Recovering in the Temple.
    • Luminous Mysteries: Baptism of Jesus, Cana wedding, Kingdom Announcement, Transfiguration, Eucharist.
    • Painful Mysteries: Agony, of Jesus  Flagellation, Thorn Coronation,  Cross Carrying, Crucifixion and Death
  • Glorious Mysteries: Resurrection, Ascension, Pentecost, Assumption of the Blessed Virgin, Mary’s Coronation

During the XIXth century

After the devastations caused by French Revolution, dechristianisation is important, unbelief is developing, Christian people are like warmness ; at that time, workers suffer of misery and social injustice.

With her burning soul, Pauline realizes that one must give again people inclination to God. Ardent to the devotion to Virgin Mary and member of the Rosary Confraternity, she feels that  this prayer, many times recommended by the Popes, is able to wake up society .

« I was incessantly praying our Lord so that he saved the sinners …I wanted to contribute to Lord’s glory. »

« This beautiful prayer has been left to devote by trade women, even if they were old and had nothing to do; that was a false prejudice…. »

Organization

How to manage so that everybody adopted this prayer?

In 1826, with her usual intuitivism and sense of organization, Pauline distributes Rosary recitation amongst groups of 15 persons or « partners », in honor of the different mysteries; each person binds oneself to say a dozen every day, meditating one mystery of Our Lord’s life. People were drawing lots of this mystery during their weekly meetings. This way, the whole Rosary will be recited every day by the group of 15 people; all the mysteries are meditated in turn. A zealot woman is responsible for each group.

Besides, each person promised to recruit a new member in every class of society and pay an annual amount of money for the good press spreading.

Pauline will incitate these women to form fifteens which will comprise each: « good people, feeble people, and others persons which have only their good-will. 15 embers, only one is fired up, three or four are half-fired up, the others are not. Put them together and it becomes a blazing mass. »

Then Partners are forming a praying chain, by the meditated Mysteries solidarity and constitute, in hearts union, a large spiritual family.

« What a blessing to be joined to such good souls ! How beautiful is this charity, that makes with a great number of persons different by their age and their social conditions a single family whose mother is Mary »

Living Rosary

Pauline herself will call it the Living Rosary. Partners are invisibly  but actually bound in the Living Rosary that they are reciting every day, following  Pope ‘s praying intentions for peoples evangelization, sinners conversion and faith preservation inside Catholic Church.

« Living Rosary, the Mary crown joins us extraordinarily, although we are many, as a rose has many  petals, a rose-tree  many roses, a garden many rose-trees. »

Groups multiply in France first and  hen in the whole world. In 1834, Living Rosary counted  ore than one million of members in France. Pauline may write:

« Dozens still multiply..We’ll be soon in prayer communion with all the peoples in the world »

Pauline receives oral support  from the Popes, who will commit Living Rosary to the Dominican family. This family will assure international development of the Work from Lorette House until Pauline’s death in 1862.

Today, Rosary is still recitated all over the world in different manners, in religious Communities, in Parishes, Spiritual Works, Marial Associations, Pilgrim places.

Le Rosaire Vivant

Origine du Rosaire

Le Rosaire est une prière universelle, utilisée en presque toutes les langues et dans la plupart des pays. Il a une valeur biblique et spirituelle universelle. C’est une prière très ancienne.

Au cours des premiers siècles, les chrétiens récitaient les 150 psaumes bibliques. Ces psaumes ont été remplacés, par 150 « Je vous salue Marie » ou « Ave Maria ». Pour les chrétiens, il est important de s’adresser à Marie. Les paroles sont celles de la salutation de l’Ange Gabriel à Marie et celles d’Elisabeth, à laquelle Marie s’est empressée de rendre visite.

« Je te salue, Marie, comblée de grâces, le Seigneur est avec toi » Luc 1,28

« Bénie es-tu entre les femmes, et béni le fruit de ton sein » Luc 1,42

Au cours des siècles, les 150 ‘ Ave Maria ’ furent divisés en trois groupes de 50. Chaque groupe prendra le nom de chapelet, comportant 5 dizaines d’Ave Maria.

Prier le Rosaire

C’est méditer l’Evangile par l’intercession de Marie avec les Mystères de la vie de Notre Seigneur :

– Mystères joyeux : Annonciation, Visitation, Nativité, Présentation au Temple, Recouvrement au Temple.

– Mystères lumineux : Baptême de Jésus, Noces de Cana, Annonce de Royaume, Transfiguration, Eucharistie.

– Mystères douloureux : Agonie de Jésus, Flagellation, Couronnement d’épines, Portement de Croix, Crucifiement et Mort.

– Mystères glorieux : Résurrection, Ascension, Pentecôte, Assomption de Marie, Couronnement de Marie.

Au XIXème siècle

Après les ravages causés par la Révolution Française,la déchristianisation est importante, l’incroyance se développe, les chrétiens sont plongés dans la tiédeur tandis que les ouvriers souffrent de pauvreté et d’injustice sociale.

Âme de feu, Pauline prend conscience qu’il faut redonner le goût de Dieu. Fervente à la dévotion à la Vierge Marie, et membre de la Confrérie du Rosaire, elle pense que cette prière, maintes fois recommandée par les Papes, pourra réveiller la société.

« Je priais incessamment Notre – Seigneur de sauver les pécheurs…je voulais contribuer à la gloire de Dieu ».

« Cette belle prière était laissée aux dévotes de profession, encore qu’elles fussent vieilles et n’eussent rien à faire ; ce qui était un préjugé faux… »

Organisation

Comment faire adopter cette prière à tout le monde ?

En 1826, avec son intuition habituelle et son sens de l’organisation, Pauline répartit la récitation du Rosaire entre des groupes de 15 personnes ou « associés », en l’honneur des mystères ; chaque personne s’engage à réciter UNE DIZAINE QUOTIDIENNEMENT, en méditant un des mystères de la vie de Notre-Seigneur. Ce mystère est tiré au sort, chaque mois, au cours de la rencontre mensuelle ; ainsi, le Rosaire est récité en entier, chaque jour, par le groupe des quinze ; tous les mystères sont médités à tour de rôle. Une Zélatrice est responsable d’un groupe.

En outre, chaque personne s’engage à recruter un nouveau membre, dans toutes les classes de la société, et à verser une petite somme annuelle pour la diffusion des bons livres.

Pauline incite à former des quinzaines dont chacune comporte :

« Du bon, du médiocre et quelques autres personnes qui n’ont que de la bonne volonté… Quinze charbons, un seul est allumé, trois ou quatre le sont à demi, les autres pas. Rapprochez – les c’est un brasier »

Les Associés constituent ainsi, par la solidarité des Mystères médités, une chaînede prière et forment dans l’union des cœurs, une grande famille spirituelle.

« Quel bonheur d’être unies à des âmes aussi bonnes ! Qu’elle est belle cette charité qui fait d’une multitude de personnes de tout âge, de toutes conditions, de tous pays, une seule famille dont Marie est la Mère »

Rosaire Vivant

C’est Pauline elle-même qui le nommera le Rosaire Vivant. Les Associés sont liés invisiblement mais réellement dans le Rosaire entier récité quotidiennement, aux intentions universelles du Pape, pour l’évangélisation des peuples, pour la conversion des pécheurs et la conservation de la foi dans l’Eglise.

« Le Rosaire Vivant, cette couronne de Marie, nous rend tellement un, quoique nous soyons plusieurs, comme une rose a plusieurs pétales, un rosier, plusieurs roses, un jardin, plusieurs rosiers »

Les groupes se multiplient en France, puis dans le monde. En 1834, le Rosaire Vivant comptait plus d’un million d’adhérents en France. Pauline peut écrire :

« Les dizaines continuent à se multiplier…En peu, nous serons en union de prière avec tous les peuples du monde ».

Pauline reçoit l’appui des Papes qui confieront le Rosaire Vivant à la famille dominicaine. Elle assurera le développement international de l’œuvre à partir de sa maison de Lorette et jusqu’à sa mort en 1862.

Aujourd’hui, le Rosaire continue d’être prié dans le monde de différentes façons, dans les Congrégations religieuses, les Paroisses, les Mouvements de Spiritualité, les Associations mariales, les lieux de Pèlerinage.