top of page

Beatification

Tropical Leaves

God alone is holy

You alone are Holy, you alone are Lord  », sings the  Gloria. Before evoking the recognized holiness of certain people, in the forefront of which stands the Virgin Mary, the All Holy, we must always keep in mind this fundamental affirmation of our faith.  :  God alone is Holy. It is moreover out of respect for the holiness of God that the people of Israel never pronounce his name.

 

Word "  Holy  originally evokes the idea of separation. But the God of the Bible wants to communicate his holiness  : he is not only holy, he is  also the source of all holiness. By creating humanity out of pure love, God offered it his holiness, invited it into communion with him. The contemplation of this unfathomable mystery fills Saint Paul with wonder:  Blessed be God the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ  ! He has blessed us and showered us with the blessings of the Spirit, in heaven, in Christ. He chose us, in Christ, before the foundation of the world, to be holy, immaculate before him, in love  (Ephesians 1:3-4).

This call to communion with God is addressed to all, without exception, by means known only to God. The whole history of humanity is unfortunately there to attest that this immeasurable gift was not accepted. However, God does not abandon us to the power of sin and death. Out of love for all humanity, he gives us his Son, Jesus, through whom we are offered salvation. "  He loved the Church, he gave himself up for her, in order to make her holy by purifying her by bathing in baptismal water, accompanied by a word  ; he wanted to present it to himself, this Church, resplendent, without spot, or wrinkle, or anything like that.  ; he wanted her holy and immaculate  (Eph 5, 25-27).

Holiness and Baptism

How can we receive, and appropriately welcome, the holiness of God  ? For those to whom the Gospel has been announced and who have had the opportunity to request this sacrament,  God communicates his holiness through the sacrament of baptism. The Second Vatican Council rightly recalls that "  the disciples of Christ have truly become by the baptism of faith, sons of God, partakers of the divine nature and, therefore, truly holy. This sanctification which they have received, they must therefore, with the grace of God, preserve it and complete it by their lives.  (Lumen Gentium 40).

Such, then, is the authentically Christian life  : a life that seeks to preserve and  complete the sanctification received on the day of baptism. For this, we benefit from an example and support. An example, that of Jesus, who is the model of holiness from whom we learn to love in deeds and in truth  : “  love one another as I have loved you  (John 15:12).

 

But we know that an example that is too edifying risks turning out to be overwhelming, inimitable. This is why God wanted that, in addition to the model, we benefit from his support, from the unfailing help of his grace to walk, day after day, in the footsteps of Jesus: “  whoever abides in me and in whom I abide, that one bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing  (John 15:5).

how do you become holy  ?

In the broadest, but also the most exact sense of this term, we can say that we  becomes holy through a life of ever deeper communion with God, Father, Son and Holy Spirit, from whom we receive the charity which is  the soul of holiness to which all are called  (Catechism of the Catholic Church  826).

In the vast majority of cases, this holiness remains hidden, known only to God and, possibly, to loved ones. The person concerned, in any case, is completely unaware of it  ; otherwise, it would mean that she would have succumbed to pride and presumption.

 

During his earthly life, the holy person shines by his humility. She is convinced that sin marks her life, as Saint John so clearly recognizes.  : “  if we say we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. If we acknowledge our sins, he who is faithful and just goes so far as to forgive our sins  (1 John 1, 8-9). At most this person will admit  : “  what I am, I am by the grace of God  (1 Corinthians 15:10). Every year, the solemnity of All Saints' Day reminds us of the existence of these very numerous saints.

 

Some of these saints  are canonized.  They are not necessarily the greatest in the sight of God. It is quite possible that in Heaven non-canonized saints precede canonized saints. So what is  meaning of canonizations  ? We can say that it is double  : on the one hand, it is the solemn recognition that these people have heroically practiced the virtues and lived in fidelity to the grace of God, on the other hand, that they are for us  models and intercessors.

Investigations and declaration of heroic virtues

Since communion with God is brought about by invisible grace, the Church must content herself with signs in order to approach the mystery of a person's holiness. These signs belong to very different registers (heroic virtues, martyrdom,  reputation for holiness, miracles...) that should be studied not only thanks to the testimonies collected but also with the assistance of experts in theological, historical, medical matters... To this end, we proceed to  a long investigation.

What is the objective  ? This inquiry is intended to help the Pope achieve moral certainty about the heroic virtues of a deceased person, about his possible martyrdom or about a miracle obtained through his intercession. In this way, he can issue a definitive sentence on the holiness of this person.  ; this is called canonization.

How is this investigation going?  ? Over the centuries, the procedures have evolved a lot. Currently, we proceed in two stages  :  first, a diocesan inquiry, then a Roman inquiry  (see website of  Vatican ). The diocesan inquiry is a canonical process, instructed by the competent bishop, which aims to collect evidence  for and against  the canonization of a person. Once this investigation is completed, all the documents collected (thousands of pages in general) are sent to Rome.

 

The Congregation for the Causes of Saints begins by carefully examining the file sent. In particular, it verifies that the various norms relating to diocesan inquiries have been observed. If this is indeed the case, the cause is then entrusted to one of the rapporteurs of the Congregation. This one,  with the help of someone outside the Congregation (usually someone who took part in the diocesan inquiry and therefore knows the file well) prepares the  position  which is a kind of summary (between 500 and 1000 pages approximately) of the most important points of the file.

 

The  position  is first submitted to historian consultants so that they can comment on its scientific value. It is then submitted (along with the written votes of the historian consultors and any clarifications from the rapporteur) to theologian consultors so that they can study the controversial theological questions if necessary and express themselves on the merits of the cause. The votes of the theologian consultors, as well as their conclusions, are finally entrusted to the judgment of the cardinals and bishops who are members of the Congregation (about thirty).

 

Their opinion is brought to the attention of the  Pope who alone has the right, after having collected all these opinions, prayed and reflected, to decree that a person is holy.

 

For  miracles, we proceed to a  specific inquiry, diocesan then Roman, which has the particularity of involving medical consultants whose conclusions and votes will be submitted to the theologian consultants, cardinals and bishops, and finally to the Pope himself.

beatification or canonization

We sometimes wonder about the difference between beatification and canonization. For a person to be beatified, the Pope must recognize the heroicity of his virtues (he is then qualified as venerable) as well as a miracle obtained by his intercession, after his death. In the particular case of martyrdom, the miracle is not required for beatification. The public worship of this beatified person is however limited to a geographical area or a spiritual family. If a new miracle is obtained through his intercession, after his beatification, the Pope can then pronounce a definitive decree by which the blessed person is raised to the honor of the altars in the whole Church and recognized as a saint.

The cause of Pauline Jaricot

There are two types of causes for canonization: recent causes for which the virtues (or martyrdom) can be proven by the oral depositions of eyewitnesses and old causes where the only evidence is written evidence. The cause of Pauline Jaricot (1799-1862) belongs to this second category.

At the time when this cause was introduced, the procedure provided for an ordinary trial (in other words diocesan) where the first testimonies on his life were received (See his  Life ) and studied his writings (See the  Bibliography ), which was to conclude in Rome with the papal approval which allowed the opening of the apostolic (in other words Roman) process.

 

The Roman archives attest that the cause of Pauline Jaricot, founder of the Works for the Propagation of the Faith and of the Living Rosary, began in Lyons and then entered its Roman phase, when her introduction before the Congregation of Rites (today replaced by the Congregation for the Causes of Saints and the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments) was approved by Pius XI on Wednesday, June 18, 1930.

 

On Tuesday, February 19, 1963, the same archives mention a general meeting of the Congregation of Rites, in the Apostolic Palace, with cardinals, prelates and theologian consultors, in the presence of John XXIII.

 

On that day, three cases are studied: a miracle attributed to Jean Népomucène Neumann (beatified in 1963 and canonized in 1977), a miracle attributed to Elizabeth Ann Bayley Seton (beatified in 1963 and canonized in 1975), two American saints, and the virtues of Pauline Jaricot. Unanimously, the cardinals, prelates and consultors voted in favor of the heroic virtues of Pauline Jaricot, which was confirmed by John XXIII on Monday, February 25, 1963.

Aware of the fruitfulness of his works (see page  Works ), more than ever we must ask the Lord for a miracle (see page  Testimonies ), in this case a physical healing through the intercession of Pauline, because we are all eager to see her beatified, then canonized!

bottom of page

Béatification

Dieu seul est saint

« Toi seul es Saint, toi seul es Seigneur », chante le Gloria. Avant d’évoquer la sainteté reconnue de certaines personnes, au premier rang desquelles se tient la Vierge Marie, la Toute Sainte, il faut toujours garder à l’esprit cette affirmation fondamentale de notre foi : Dieu seul est Saint. C’est d’ailleurs par respect pour la sainteté de Dieu que le peuple d’Israël ne prononce jamais son nom.

Le mot « saint » évoque à l’origine l’idée de séparation. Mais le Dieu de la Bible veut communiquer sa sainteté : il n’est pas seulement saint, il est aussi la source de toute sainteté. En créant l’humanité par pur amour, Dieu lui a offert sa sainteté, l’a invitée à la communion avec lui. La contemplation de ce mystère insondable émerveille saint Paul : « Béni soit Dieu, le Père de notre Seigneur Jésus Christ ! Il nous a bénis et comblés des bénédictions de l’Esprit, au ciel, dans le Christ. Il nous a choisis, dans le Christ, avant la fondation du monde, pour que nous soyons saints, immaculés devant lui, dans l’amour » (Éphésiens 1, 3-4).

Cet appel à la communion avec Dieu s’adresse à tous, sans exception, par des voies connues de Dieu seul. Toute l’histoire de l’humanité est malheureusement là pour attester que ce don incommensurable n’a pas été accueilli. Pour autant, Dieu ne nous abandonne pas au pouvoir du péché et de la mort. Par amour pour l’humanité tout entière, il nous donne son Fils, Jésus, par qui nous est offert le salut. « Il a aimé l’Église, il s’est livré lui-même pour elle, afin de la rendre sainte en la purifiant par le bain de l’eau baptismale, accompagné d’une parole ; il voulait se la présenter à lui-même, cette Église, resplendissante, sans tache, ni ride, ni rien de tel ; il la voulait sainte et immaculée » (Ep 5, 25-27).

Sainteté et baptême

Comment pouvons-nous recevoir, et accueillir comme il convient, la sainteté de Dieu ? Pour ceux auxquels l’Évangile a été annoncé et qui ont eu la possibilité de demander ce sacrement, Dieu communique sa sainteté par le sacrement de baptême. Le concile Vatican II rappelle fort justement que « les disciples du Christ sont véritablement devenus par le baptême de la foi, fils de Dieu, participants de la nature divine et, par conséquent, réellement saints. Cette sanctification qu’ils ont reçue, il leur faut donc, avec la grâce de Dieu, la conserver et l’achever par leur vie » (Lumen Gentium 40).

Telle est donc la vie authentiquement chrétienne : une vie qui cherche à conserver et à achever la sanctification reçue au jour du baptême. Pour cela, nous bénéficions d’un exemple et d’un soutien. Un exemple, celui de Jésus, qui est le modèle de sainteté auprès de qui on apprend à aimer en actes et en vérité : « aimez-vous les uns les autres comme je vous ai aimés » (Jean 15, 12).

Mais on sait qu’un exemple trop édifiant risque de se révéler écrasant, inimitable. C’est pourquoi Dieu a voulu qu’en plus du modèle, nous bénéficiions de son soutien, de l’aide indéfectible de sa grâce pour cheminer, jour après jour, à la suite de Jésus : « celui qui demeure en moi et en qui je demeure, celui-là porte beaucoup de fruit, car, en dehors de moi, vous ne pouvez rien faire » (Jean 15, 5).

 

Comment devient-on saint ?

Au sens le plus large, mais aussi le plus exact, de ce terme, on peut dire qu’on devient saint par une vie de communion toujours plus profonde avec Dieu, Père, Fils et Saint-Esprit, de qui on reçoit la charité qui est « l’âme de la sainteté à laquelle tous sont appelés » (Catéchisme de l’Église Catholique 826).

Dans l’immense majorité des cas, cette sainteté demeure cachée, connue de Dieu seul et, éventuellement, des proches. La personne concernée, en tout cas, l’ignore complètement ; dans le cas contraire, cela signifierait qu’elle aurait succombé à l’orgueil et à la présomption.

Au cours de sa vie terrestre, la personne sainte brille par son humilité. Elle est convaincue que le péché marque sa vie, comme le reconnaît si clairement saint Jean : « si nous disons que nous n’avons pas de péché, nous nous égarons nous-mêmes, et la vérité n’est pas en nous. Si nous reconnaissons nos péchés, lui qui est fidèle et juste va jusqu’à pardonner nos péchés » (1 Jean 1, 8-9). Tout au plus cette personne admettra-t-elle : « ce que je suis, je le suis par la grâce de Dieu » (1 Corinthiens 15, 10). Chaque année, la solennité de la Toussaint nous rappelle l’existence de ces très nombreux saints.

Certains, parmi ces saints, sont canonisés. Ce ne sont pas nécessairement les plus grands aux yeux de Dieu. Il est tout à fait possible qu’au Ciel des saints non canonisés précèdent des saints canonisés. Quel est donc le sens des canonisations ? On peut dire qu’il est double : d’une part, il est la reconnaissance solennelle que ces personnes ont pratiqué héroïquement les vertus et vécu dans la fidélité à la grâce de Dieu, d’autre part, qu’elles sont pour nous des modèles et des intercesseurs.

Enquêtes et déclaration de l’héroïcité des vertus

Puisque la communion avec Dieu est opérée par la grâce, invisible, l’Église doit se contenter de signes pour approcher le mystère de la sainteté d’une personne. Ces signes appartiennent à des registres très différents (héroïcité des vertus, martyre, réputation de sainteté, miracles…) qu’il convient d’étudier non seulement grâce aux témoignages recueillis mais aussi avec le concours d’experts en matières théologique, historique, médicale… À cet effet, on procède à une longue enquête.

Quel en est le but ? Cette enquête veut aider le Pape à atteindre la certitude morale sur les vertus héroïques d’une personne défunte, sur son éventuel martyre ou sur un miracle obtenu par son intercession. De la sorte, il peut émettre une sentence définitive sur la sainteté de cette personne ; c’est ce qu’on appelle la canonisation.

Comment se déroule cette enquête ? Au cours des siècles, les procédures ont beaucoup évolué. Actuellement, on procède en deux temps : d’abord, une enquête diocésaine, puis une enquête romaine (voir site du Vatican). L’enquête diocésaine est un procès canonique, instruit par l’évêque compétent, qui a pour but de recueillir les preuves pro et contra la canonisation d’une personne. Une fois cette enquête terminée, l’ensemble des documents recueillis (des milliers de pages en général) est envoyé à Rome.

La Congrégation pour les Causes des Saints commence par examiner attentivement le dossier envoyé. En particulier, elle vérifie que les différentes normes relatives aux enquêtes diocésaines ont été observées. Si tel est bien le cas, la cause est alors confiée à l’un des rapporteurs de la Congrégation. Celui-ci,  avec le concours d’une personne extérieure à la Congrégation (en général, quelqu’un qui a participé à l’enquête diocésaine et connaît donc bien le dossier) prépare la positio qui est une sorte de résumé (entre 500 et 1000 pages environ) des points les plus importants du dossier.

La positio est d’abord soumise à des consulteurs historiens pour qu’ils s’expriment sur sa valeur scientifique. Elle est ensuite soumise (avec les votes écrits des consulteurs historiens et les éventuels éclaircissements du rapporteur) à des consulteurs théologiens pour qu’ils étudient au besoin les questions théologiques controversées et qu’ils s’expriment sur le mérite de la cause. Les votes des consulteurs théologiens, ainsi que leurs conclusions, sont confiés enfin au jugement des cardinaux et évêques membres de la Congrégation (une trentaine).

Leur avis est porté à la connaissance du Pape qui seul a le droit, après avoir recueilli tous ces avis, prié et réfléchi, de décréter qu’une personne est sainte.

Pour les miracles, on procède à une enquête spécifique, diocésaine puis romaine, qui a la particularité de faire intervenir des consulteurs médicaux dont les conclusions et les votes seront soumis aux consulteurs théologiens, aux cardinaux et évêques, enfin au Pape lui-même.

Béatification ou canonisation

On s’interroge parfois sur la différence qui existe entre béatification et canonisation. Pour qu’une personne soit béatifiée, il faut que le Pape reconnaisse l’héroïcité de ses vertus (elle est alors qualifiée de vénérable) ainsi qu’un miracle obtenu par son intercession, après sa mort. Dans le cas particulier du martyre, le miracle n’est pas requis pour la béatification. Le culte public de cette personne béatifiée est toutefois limité à une zone géographique ou à une famille spirituelle. Si un nouveau miracle est obtenu par son intercession, après sa béatification, le Pape peut alors prononcer un décret définitif par lequel la personne bienheureuse est élevée à l’honneur des autels dans l’Église tout entière et reconnue comme sainte.

 

La cause de Pauline Jaricot

On distingue deux types de causes de canonisation : les causes récentes pour lesquelles les vertus (ou le martyre) peuvent être prouvées par les dépositions orales de témoins oculaires et les causes anciennes où les seules preuves sont des preuves écrites. La cause de Pauline Jaricot (1799-1862) appartient à cette seconde catégorie.

À l’époque où cette cause fut introduite, la procédure prévoyait un procès ordinaire (autrement dit diocésain) où étaient reçus les premiers témoignages sur sa vie (Voir sa Vie) et étudiés ses écrits (Voir la Bibliographie), qui devait se conclure à Rome avec l’approbation pontificale qui permettait l’ouverture du procès apostolique (autrement dit romain).

Les archives romaines attestent que la cause de Pauline Jaricot, fondatrice des Œuvres de la Propagation de la Foi et du Rosaire vivant, a commencé à Lyon puis qu’elle est entrée dans sa phase romaine, lorsque son introduction devant la Congrégation des Rites (aujourd’hui remplacée par la Congrégation pour les Causes des Saints et la Congrégation pour le Culte Divin et la Discipline des Sacrements) a été approuvée par Pie XI, le mercredi 18 juin 1930.

À la date du mardi 19 février 1963, les mêmes archives mentionnent une réunion générale de la Congrégation des Rites, dans le Palais apostolique, avec les cardinaux, les prélats et les consulteurs théologiens, en présence de Jean XXIII.

Ce jour-là, sont étudiés trois cas : un miracle attribué à Jean Népomucène Neumann (béatifié en 1963 et canonisé en 1977), un miracle attribué à Elizabeth Ann Bayley Seton (béatifiée en 1963 et canonisée en 1975), deux saints américains, et les vertus de Pauline Jaricot. À l’unanimité, les cardinaux, prélats et consulteurs votent en faveur de l’héroïcité des vertus de Pauline Jaricot, ce que confirmera Jean XXIII, le lundi 25 février 1963.

Conscients de la fécondité de ses œuvres (voir la page Œuvres), plus que jamais nous devons demander au Seigneur un miracle (voir la page Témoignages), en l’occurrence une guérison physique par l’intercession de Pauline, parce que nous avons tous hâte de la voir béatifiée, puis canonisée !